Australian online casino real money Win real cash when you play at a real money online casino.

The Early Years Foundation Stage


Our aim is to maximise children’s learning throughout the Foundation Stage through well planned play, both indoors and outdoors with effective adult support.


Our objectives are to help children learn:

  • Through talk, investigation, observation and interaction with adults and peers.
  • Through the encouragement of independent learning
  • Through the organisation of resources in a stimulating way to encourage independence, self-help and a sense of ownership
  • From each other
  • Through movement and using all their senses
  • Through having time to explore their ideas and interests
  • Through feeling secure enough to become confident learners
  • Through creative and imaginative play activities that promote the development and use of language

And, through play to:

  • make sense of the world
  • practice and build up ideas, concepts and skills
  • learn how to control impulses and see the need for rules
  • be alone, alongside others or co-operate as they talk or rehearse their feelings
  • take risks and make mistakes
  • think creatively and imaginatively
  • communicate with others as they investigate or solve problems
  • express fears or relive anxious experiences in a controlled and safe situation

Principles of good early years practice

  • Holistic approach to child development
  • Recognition and accommodation of special needs
  • To provide equal opportunities to learn through equal access to a broad based curriculum
  • To ensure each child fulfils their potential through effective use of monitoring
  • Valuing each child’s individual experiences, skills and interests
  • Promotion of an accepting and supportive learning environment to ensure children feel included, secure and valued
  • Development of an affiliative approach and positive relationships with parents to facilitate our objectives
  • Deployment of purposeful play based activities and appropriate intervention by adults in order to engage children in the learning process

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) applies to children from birth to the end of the reception year.

The EYFS is based upon four principles:

  • A Unique Child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development

The 7 areas of learning and development

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

For a full version of the EYFS Framework check: or/and

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

These standards can be found at:–2

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework supports an integrated approach to early learning and care. It gives all professionals a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children.

As well as being the core document for all professionals working in the foundation years, the EYFS framework gives mums and dads confidence that regardless of where they choose for their child’s early education, they can be assured that the same statutory commitments and principles will underpin their child’s learning and development experience.